YouTube is bringing Shorts to TV, how many Google reviews you need to rank locally, and more. November 8, 2022 [Read in browser]( [logo] [sponsor]( Good morning. Where are you most productive? Most of The Crew prefers the home office, though coffee shops and libraries help too. Reply with your productivity hotspot! YOUTUBE Shorts are coming to TV screens [article-image] Good news for people who use their flat-screens for⦠not watching TV. YouTube just announced itâs [bringing Shorts to TV screens](, allowing users to watch and navigate popular short-form video content with their remotes. Short and narrow: The vertical format of Shorts doesnât fit wide screens, of course, so videos will appear centered with a white border and a background that aligns with the videoâs main color. Also, these videos wonât autoplay. Instead, users will swipe through Shorts using the âupâ and âdownâ buttons on their remotes. When itâs available: YouTube says Shorts will appear on screen âover the coming weeksâ for TV models 2019 and later, as well as for newer game consoles. Why we care: In July of this year, [YouTube TV hit a 5M subscriber milestone](. And last year, it was reported that [over 120M people were streaming YouTube on their TVs.]( This update means more eyeballs for Shorts. And for marketers, it means more content marketing, more influencer marketing, and more paid ads opportunities with a popular format. Not bad for a Tuesday. GOOGLE The magic review number for better rankings, plus a few holiday tips It seems like there are always new questions about Googleâs ad channels. Today, we got answers to two of them: one about local SEO, and one about Search Ads. How many reviews do you need to start ranking locally? According to a recent study, [10 reviews should provide a ranking boost for local results.]( The same study claims that more than 10 reviews âdoes not seem to significantly improve results,â but if you have a relatively new local store, 10 legitimate reviews can kickstart your climb. How should you prepare ads for the holiday season? Google predicts a long shopping season that may start earlier than usual, so they [recommend planning your campaigns on time:]( - Make sure your product feeds are up to date and provide data at least 3â5 business days in advance.
- Optimize content in product feed.
- Address account warnings early.
- Review shopping campaign settings and make sure campaigns are set to âactive.â
- Review your returns settings. Why we care: Holidays are fast approaching and every advantage counts. Both of these insights can help you make the most of the season. By the way, it pays to have your campaigns squared away so you reduce problems during a hectic period. Who wants to get sandwiched between tech issues while everyone else is making dough? SPONSORED BY BLACK CROW AI 150+ DTC brands profit from pinpoint audience targeting. Why not you? [article-image]( Chances are, youâre sitting on a goldmine of first-party data that you can use to sharpen your targeting. All you need are the right tools. [Like Black Crow AI.](This platform leverages your first-party data and predictive targeting to scout for new prospects most likely to convert. âHmm⦠does that mean no more wasting money on non-converting users?â Yep, exactly. DTC retailers like Cotopaxi, Bearaby, Leesa all use [Black Crow AIâs machine learning models]( to build high-intent audiences across all platforms. And guess what? They all struck gold: - Bearabyâs ROAS spiked by 120%.
- Cotopaxi boosted ROAS by 30% and Facebook revenue by 80%.
- Liquid I.V. saw their net profits rise by 178%. On average, brands using this tool see their ROAS increase by at least 25%. You can too. [Try Black Crow AI today.]( MARKETING 5 positioning questions that will help your customers finally âget itâ [article-image] The famous violinist Joshua Bell once played music in a DC subway⦠and hardly anyone stopped to listen. ⦠Even though people regularly pay $300 to hear him play music in a plush concert hall! So what gives? As [Erez Druk points out](, this story shows the importance of product positioning. Because people donât always âgetâ the value of something, especially if itâs out of context. To solve this problem, Erez recommends using April Dumfordâs framework of positioning components to make it easier for your customers to contextualize and see the value of your product. All you have to do is ask five simple questions⦠#1 - If you didnât exist, what would your best customers use? This might hurt to hear, but your customers are probably comparing you to alternatives. So learn who your biggest competitors are, and figure out how to position yourself against them. #2 - What unique attributes and features do you have that others donât? When you study competitors, think about what you offer that they donât. Whatâs something that canât be done without your product or service? Identify it, and promote it hard. #3 - What value do you provide for your customers? Features are nice. Now turn them into value by approaching your product from the âwhatâs in it for themâ angle. You know how Apple famously promoted the iPod as â1,000 songs in your pocketâ instead of having â5GB of memory?â Thatâs an example of value. #4 - Whoâs your ideal customer? Focus on people who care the most about the value you offer. This will help you target high-intent buyers and earn you the most money. #5 - Whatâs your market category? Remember how we mentioned context earlier? Hereâs where you figure that part out. Because even the greatest product or service will fail when put in the wrong context. By asking these questions, youâll improve your productâs positioning. And your sales and marketing teams will be eternally grateful! SPONSORED BY INBOX MAILERS New email strategy increases email open rates by up to 5x [article-image]( Are your emails being seen by as many customers as they should be⦠or are you getting ignored in the inbox? Turn the tables: In this free webinar, [Joel Skretvedt from Inbox Mailers]( will show you how their new technology can: - Increase your email open and click rates.
- Re-engage up to 20% of your inactive subscribers.
- Solve deliverability issues.
- Boost your IP health and sender score. [Sign up for more opens and more sales.]( THE CREWâS INSIGHTS Why thereâs no such thing as âthe perfect headlineâ [article-image] You know the drill⦠Someone says, âHey, our conversion rate is low. We need better copy.â So you hire a copywriter. Or, you write it yourself. Regardless, you end up with a document of finalized copy⦠the good stuff. Then you implement the copy and let it ride. Whatâs the problem here? Advertising today isnât like it was back in the â60s. Today, we have the luxury of A/B testing copy with a few clicks. But we often donât set up tests, because freelance copywriters and agencies, and in-house teams like to come up with âthe perfect headline" or sales page, pitch it⦠and thatâs that. This burns money. No matter how good a copywriter is, odds are low that their copy is the highest-converting piece out there. Hereâs how to make more moneyâand get better copy: - If you hire freelancers, ask copywriters to give you lots of options. Instead of settling with the option your copywriter likes best, ask them for the 10 best headlines they came up with while drafting. Test them all.
- If you write copy in-house, donât settle. Test copy until youâve found a âceilingâ for your conversion rateâa point where new, better copy doesnât seem to have an impact. ⦠Then watch what happens. Letâs imagine 3,000 people hit your homepage per day, your AOV is $50, and your conversion rate is 1%. In that case, a simple 0.1% boost would be a $4,500 increase in monthly revenue. Test some copy, make money, test new copy, make more money⦠rinse and repeat. ROUNDING UP THE STACK [STRENGTHEN BUSINESS RELATIONSHIPS:]( Want to show some love to your clients, employees or partners during these holidays? Giftsenda is an international corporate gifting platform that lets you create high-quality gifting experiences in a few clicks. [Start your free trial today.](* [SOCIAL MEDIA:]( Twitter is dominating headlines, but another platform is quietly reaping the benefits. Mastodonâa decentralized platform positioned as Twitter alternativeâhas recently passed one million active users and prides itself on not having ads⦠yet. [E-COMMERCE:]( eBay is turning back the clock to the good old days of thrifting. The popular e-commerce platform announced it will advertise only second-hand or refurbished deals this holiday season to help with ârising costs and also being kinder to the planet.â [TWITTER:]( How do you get banned on Twitter? Pretend youâre someone else. Elon Musk announced that impersonation is a no-go, unless you make clear itâs a parody account. Weâre pretty sure that was always the case, though. [META:]( Uh-oh. Meta is preparing âlarge-scale layoffs'' this week which will affect thousands of employees, according to the Wall Street Journal. The news came soon after the company predicted a weak holiday quarter. Talk about a disappointing year. [INSTAGRAM:]( Over 18? Youâll have to prove it. Instagram is partnering with Yotiâan age estimation technology toolâto verify users are old enough. The process includes uploading a video selfie for Yoti to examine. Interesting⦠*This is a sponsored post BRAIN TEASER I am neither a guest or a trespasser be, to this place I belong, it belongs also to me. What am I? You can find the [answer here](. [poolside-logo] POOLSIDE CHAT How to magically increase PTO days [article-image] Did you know you can turn 18 days of PTO into 46 free days next year? It appears that way. Morning Brewâs Instagram post [shows how aligning days off with certain holidays]( can give you a long, well-deserved break. Hereâs the summary: - January 2023: Take off Thursday and Friday before MLK day to get five consecutive days off.
- April 2023: Four days off before Good Friday gives you a 10 day break.
- July 2023: One Monday before July 4 and voila, a four day break!
- November 2023: Five days off after Veteranâs Day and three days before Thanksgiving gives you⦠17 days off. Whoa.
- December 2023: Four days between Christmas and New Years, 10 days off. Something tells us CEOs will hate this⦠SHARING IS CARING Know whatâs easier than asking your boss for more vacation days? Sharing todayâs newsletter with other people. It also makes you look insanely well-informed in front of other marketers... and you earn great rewards! Every time you share your custom linkâand your friends and coworkers subscribeâyou earn points toward exclusive content, merch, and more. Get started by hitting the link below! [article-image](
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