Spend Less, Rank Higher November 21, 2023 | [Read Online]( [fb]( [tw]( [in]( [email](mailto:?subject=Post%20from%20Leveling%20Up&body=Steal%20Our%20Secret%20%22Fortune%20500%22%20Link-Building%20Formula%3A%20Spend%20Less%2C%20Rank%20Higher%0A%0Ahttps%3A%2F%2Fnewsletter.levelingup.com%2Fp%2Fsteal-secret-fortune-500-linkbuilding-formula) Happy Tuesday, How do you determine how much to invest in link building for high-intent keywords to generate an impressive ROI? Here's how: In investing, ROIC (return on invested capital) is one of the most important metrics. It applies to marketing as well. Most people tend to avoid SEO because it seems like a black box. First, it's not as black and white as paid media. With paid media, you put in x, and you get y. With SEO, it seems like money is being lit on fire from opaque content and link-building efforts. That's because people don't spend the time doing some upfront research. We've done this for various Fortune 500 brands and for sites that I own that get millions of monthly visits from SEO. I'm going to show you how in a few simple steps. First, open up a tool like Ahrefs, click on the 'Organic keywords' link, and filter for keywords where you are ranking in positions 4-10. Here's an example of a website that seems to have high-intent keywords, specifically 'marketing agencies' and 'ecommerce agency'. I'm ignoring the other two because they probably won't drive leads for the agency, which is the primary metric that they're trying to optimize for. Let's focus on the keyword 'marketing agencies'. In order to calculate the value of a keyword for your business, you have to know a few numbers: - lifetime value of a customer (or average order value)
- conversion rates
- estimated clickthrough rates Let's use some example numbers here: - LTV: $100,000 for nice round numbers
- Lead conversion rate - 1%
- Qualified lead conversion rate - 30%
- Sales conversion rate - 20%
- Estimated CTR - 7.5% to be conservative (could be higher with a number 1 ranking) Now let's add in the monthly search volume of 2,700 for that keyword: 2700*.075*.01*.30*.20*100000 = $12,150 The keyword would be driving $12k in value each month for your business with the numbers above. Or $144k annualized. Let's say your link-building budget is 20% of the keyword value, that'd be $2,430 you can spend on this per month before you get to a top 3 ranking. Depending on how difficult the keyword is, it could take anywhere from 2-8 months (sometimes longer). I'm also not factoring in that a page can sometimes rank for hundreds, if not thousands of keywords. So if it's a high-intent page, you're likely capturing more value than the calculation above. But we should always be conservative with our calculations. Let's also not forget that once you have a top 3 ranking, you're likely to hold that for a while without needing to invest more into link building. Then you can retarget this traffic with case studies on LinkedIn, testimonials on YouTube, etc. And throw in some RLSA on Google for good measure and you'll have a nice compounding machine. Understanding this, we're excited to offer you a unique opportunity to delve deeper with a free marketing plan from my agency. This no-obligation plan is tailored to your specific needs. And thereâs a chance Iâll hop on your discovery call and analyze your business. Donât miss out â just click below to get started for free. [Request Your Free Plan Here And Weâll Do This For You]( Have a great day,
Eric Siu Would you like more tactics like this? - [No â](
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